In addition to being a blogger and the senior pastor of Niles Discovery Church, I sing with the Golden Gate Men’s Chorus in San Francisco.  I knew when I moved to the Bay Area that I needed to join a chorus for several reasons:  I like to sing; I need a place away from my job where I’m not in charge; it’s important for pastors to have friends outside of the church.  When I heard GGMC sing, I knew I wanted to join – if they would have me.  I auditioned and was accepted.  Now I rehearse with another 40 to 50 men each week as we make some pretty darn good music, if I do say so myself.

Like all arts organizations, GGMC has to raise money.  This year, our annual appeal is being done online, so I’m inviting you, my readers, to make a contribution to our group via Crowdrise.

Our fundraising is particularly important this year because GGMC has been selected to represent San Francisco in the bi-annual World Choir Games to be held in July, 2014, in Riga, Latvia – a tremendous honor for our city and our group!

I know you don’t read my blog to get a fundraising pitch, but if you love music and you want to help a worthwhile music group, I hope you’ll join me in making a contribution to the GGMC today.  Thank you!

