I once encountered the demonstrators from the Westboro “Baptist Church.” They were demonstrating outside the joint General Synod of the United Church of Christ and the General Assembly of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ). I guess they didn’t like the expression of extravagant welcome that my denominations were (and are) expressing.
I was lucky enough to be taught how they funded their demonstrations. We all know their signs spout all sorts of vile things. So does their yelling. They do this to get under the skin of people they’re demonstrating against. They try to get people so upset that they engage in the shout match, hoping they will eventually touch the WBC demonstrators. Then they sue for battery. The suit is small enough that insurance companies settle for a few thousand dollars.
I learned that the beat way to deal with this extended family of hate is to ignore them.
News is breaking that WBC founder Fred Phelps has died. I think the same response is appropriate. Let’s just ignore it.

