I know that I have friends who are staunch supporters of the Second Amendment (to the U.S. Constitution) and it’s interpretation (the law of the land, now) that the right to bear arms is an individual right. If you’re one of those friends, I hope you will read this with an open mind.

I also know that I have experienced nervousness when I’ve been in a Starbucks (now a few years ago) that had a group of armed people in it. My first thought was, “They’re cops. What’s the police activity? Am I safe?” Then I realized they were “open carry activists” and I thought, “S**t! Am I safe? I don’t know these people!”

Now, I realize I get nervous around guns. I cop walks into the church to ask me about a homeless family, and I get nervous. Why? He’s carrying a deadly weapon. I’m not saying my nervousness is rational; I’m just saying that it’s real.

So, I’ve wondered what do to when I’m in a business establishment and I see someone(s) come in who are armed. A philosophy professor from the University of North Dakota has some advice for me. And I think I’m going to follow it. You can read his advice at this link: http://www.pqed.org/2014/07/two-brief-videos-about-open-carry-debate.html

