I had a long conversation with a friend from decades ago last night. I learned about his daughters who were toddlers when I last saw them (now in graduate school), his son (who I’ve never met), and his wife.

Their son has a significant, esoteric disability and will never live independently. Still under 26, their son is on his parents’ insurance, thanks to the Affordable Care Act. It doesn’t cover everything, but Medicaid (which he is also on because of his disability) is making up the difference (for things like his really expensive meds).
When I think about the Republicans’ desire to “repeal Obamacare,” I will now think of it this way: They want to take away this young man’s coverage under his parents’ insurance; they want to decimate Medicaid, threatening his medical back-up; they want to take away his medical safety net. And that is sinful.

